Bad News Comes in Threes

It’s been a hell of a year.  Ever since I completed my first year of med school  in May 2012,  I’ve  been on a seemingly non-stop losing streak.  An aunt passing before her time, a grandma that watched my sister and I nearly everyday during my childhood, and a break up with a long-term boyfriend.  All of this on top of the hell known as second year med school where we woefully get ready for the most important exam in our lives known as Step 1 in June.  Let’s face it, I’m in a rut and with no end in sight, as the boards rapidly approach I don’t even know how to get through it.   So I decided I need to try something different, and find somewhere I can get away from the soul-sucking monster known as med school even if it’s just for a little while. I signed up for an intro to improv class at Planet Ant which started about two weeks ago, and it’s been great!  It’s hard to describe improv, it really is, I walked in just hoping not to find a single med student in sight and have some fun on Tuesdays, but it’s more than that.  So much more I’ve decided to blog my way through the rest of this semester as it coincides with this wacky improv journey.

Improv is the thing you’ve been looking for your entire life that you didn’t even know you were searching for.  At it’s core, it’s really a philosophy, improv rules are life rules.  For example, we’ve all been told a million times that we need to “let go”, and as we repeat a mantra like that in our heads, it doesn’t necessarily mean you’re letting go. I think a better interpretation is, I want to let go, but I can’t, so if I say it a million times it will come true eventually. An improv scene will fail if you can’t let go.  It’s actual practice at moving on, and staying in the present moment.  And I’m quickly learning that the only way I’m actually going to make it through boards with any sanity and empathy left is going to boil down to me laughing my way through these next few months.  So here’s to a new hobby!

http://www.improvisedlife.com/2011/05/05/tiny-feys-4-12-rules-in-4-12-minutes/

Leave a Reply

